“I’d rather be …

“I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not.” Kurt Cobain

I have not idolised this man for my whole life, but after listening to Nevermind and In Utero as a kid without really listening to either albums, I decided to give In Utero another spin. Like I do with all film and music these days (almost obsessively, admittedly), I read the review of the 20th anniversary reissue of In Utero by Louis Pattison before listening.

Cobain’s difficulties with dealing with his status as a ‘rock star’ seemingly angered him – In Utero was an attempt to counter the misinterpretation of Nirvana’s previous, and hallmark album, Nevermind.

It is a great album, but whether his suicide was due to drugs, depression or just a pure rejection of society is the question that burns me.

Olsoweir

Leave Olsoweir a reply

